Documentary Photography

Portraits – Version One

Having worked as a staff, as well as a freelance photographer for a couple of years, portraits is anything but unfamiliar to me. I think up to 90 percent of all the commissioned jobs I’ve had, have been portraits in one style or another. When this weeks assignment came up, I didn’t think much of it. Portraits can be fun, but often it’s ten minutes with a “victim” that more or less willingly try to give you what you want.

This time I thought I could combine it with my ongoing project about Reverent Jeff, as mentioned in the previous post. Jeff was up for it, but unfortunately had to call in sick on the day. Luckily for me, I had a great Sunday shooting in the church. Didn’t get that many pictures for my story, but got a lot of great shots of the church cafe and the many activities going on there. I’m sure that the Parish can use these for one thing or another.

Instead I took the easy way out. Grabbed my girlfriend and her dog and went for a walk in the last of the first February sun…

Enjoy…

3 responses

  1. Jamie

    Great shots Anders; I particularly like the second and the third, they have a real sense of narrative and also openness/ambiguity to the character of the subject. How much did you direct?

    15/02/2011 at 18:10

    • Thanks a bunch! I must say I directed quite a lot. Probably a bit more than usual. It’s easier with somebody you know who won’t take offense…

      15/02/2011 at 18:57

  2. I like these shots very much as well! There is something really unique about your style and I like it a lot.

    01/03/2011 at 12:27

Leave a Reply

