Documentary Photography

Off to the Syrian border

In five hours (6 am) I’ll be on my way to Gatwick Airport to catch a flight to Denmark. There I’ll be joining a group of Danes from the organization VIOMIS (Knowledge about Islam) that have managed to raise enough money to buy six ambulances and a bunch of medical equipment that they’ll be transporting down through Europe to the Syrian border in Turkey. Hereafter all the equipment will be donated to Syrian hospitals that are fighting a daily battle to safe as many lives as possible in what rapidly is turning in to one of the worst humanitarian catastrophes in the so called Arab Spring.

I will join them, document their efforts and blog about our travels here on the site (in English) and (in Danish) on Modkraft.dk

For now just a quick series of shots of what I’ll be bringing. I have chosen to leave most of my equipment at home and do this one as low key as possible as I don’t know what situations will arise on the way. All I know is that I have a ticket home from Jordan in mid December.

I will write more on this in the following days as I meet up with the volunteers.

Apologies for the poor image quality, but I should have been in bed by now. Also, I’m bringing my 5D MII, not planning to shoot the whole thing on the Polaroid.

Hope you’ll follow the progress here over the next couple of weeks…

6 responses

  1. Henrik Schjørring

    Held og lykke, men pas nu på dig selv, siger en gammel bekymret onkel.

    Fra: Anders Birger [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] Sendt: 15. november 2012 02:06 Til: henrik@schjorring.com Emne: [New post] Off to the Syrian border

    AndersBirger posted: “In five hours (6 am) I’ll be on my way to Gatwick Airport to catch a flight to Denmark. There I’ll be joining a group of young Danes with Syrian roots that have managed to raise enough money to buy six ambulances and a bunch of medical equipment that they”

    15/11/2012 at 08:35

  2. Thomas Povlsen

    Hey man.
    Rigtig god tur og onkel rammer det meget godt, pas godt på dig selv.
    Ser frem til at følge jeres tur ned igennem Europa.
    Held og lykke

    Thomas

    15/11/2012 at 08:51

  3. Anders, det er godt nok et spændende projekt, du begiver dig i gang med. Thumbs up herfra og kom nu hjem i godt behold!

    De bedste tanker herfra

    Niels

    15/11/2012 at 11:30

  4. Shoot the whole thing on the Polaroid!!!!

    15/11/2012 at 16:50

  5. Michael

    ¨Glæder mig til og læse og se billeder…..

    Ha en god tur. ;o)

    15/11/2012 at 19:25

  6. Michael

    Christrup

    15/11/2012 at 19:26

Leave a comment